Relocating to Irvine

NEW -> Contingent Buyer Assistance Program

SaSh

Hello there,

We are relocating to Irvine in Oct 2024. I will be exploring admission for my daughter (Asian-India) in grade 11. She has a been diagnosed with dyscalculia (40%) I am looking to enrol her in a high school which isn't very competitive . With hard work, she should be able to complete her basic Math credits. She is otherwise a talented, diligent teenager who plays the violin and drums.

Please recommend me a high school which can be easy to adapt to and may help her chart a reasonable transition to a good UC. This will determine our location for the big move.

PS- I am still new with the US terminologies for education.

Thanks so much

I think all of the Irvine high schools are competitive in general. Finding the right peer group will make a difference even at a competitive high school. I've heard that Irvine High and Woodbridge High are less competitive than University High and Northwood High (and I haven't heard much about Portola High).

A good UC seems to be the reach nowadays. One option to consider is doing coursework at a community college (Irvine Valley College) and then transferring to a UC. Here are some links:

Hope some other parents here can provide feedback.

Hello there,

We are relocating to Irvine in Oct 2024. I will be exploring admission for my daughter (Asian-India) in grade 11. She has a been diagnosed with dyscalculia (40%) I am looking to enroll her in a high school which isn't very competitive . With hard work, she should be able to complete her basic Math credits. She is otherwise a talented, diligent teenager who plays the violin and drums.

Please recommend me a high school which can be easy to adapt to and may help her chart a reasonable transition to a good UC. This will determine our location for the big move.

PS- I am still new with the US terminologies for education.

Thanks so much